Awards, Bursaries, Scholarships

Awards, Bursaries, Scholarships

E.M. Culliton Scholarship Endowment

As a tribute to the former Chief Justice E. M. Culliton, an endowment was established by the Law Society of Saskatchewan to provide that in perpetuity a special scholarship is to be awarded for the pursuit of post-graduate studies in criminal law.

The criteria for the selection of the recipients of the annual scholarship are as follows:

The scholarship will be awarded to a graduating student of the College of Law, University of Saskatchewan or to a resident practicing member of the Law Society of Saskatchewan for the pursuit of graduate studies in criminal law at a recognized institution. The recipient will be selected on the basis of academic record and research potential, service to the practice of law in Saskatchewan, and such other guidelines as from time to time may be determined appropriate by the committee.

The value of the scholarship to be awarded in 2020 has not yet been finally determined, but the maximum amount available is expected to be $10,000. Up to two scholarships may be awarded in any one year. The deadline date for receipt of applications is May 4, 2020 and a decision will be made by the end of June, 2020.

Please complete application form and return to:

The Law Society of Saskatchewan
1100 - 2002 Victoria Avenue
Regina, SK
S4P 0R7

Or email Liz at

The Right Honourable Paul Martin Sr. Scholarships 

The Canadian Institute for Advanced Legal Studies provides full funding for scholarships (French) each year in the name of The Right Honourable Paul Martin Sr. to two Canadian law students for study in the University of Cambridge Master of Laws programme.

The Institute also provides an annual French Language Scholarship to one Canadian law student for study in law at a French language European university. 

For further information with respect to these Scholarships, see

C. Willy Hodgson Award

The C. Willy Hodgson Award is given in memory of Willy Hodgson, O.C., SOM, and her many contributions to advancing equality and diversity in the administration of justice for the people of Saskatchewan.  Willy Hodgson was a Cree elder, and sat on the Saskatchewan Legal Aid Commission and the Moose Jaw Police Commission, as well as having worked as a nurse and social worker.  She was appointed a Lay Bencher of the Law Society of Saskatchewan from 1997 to 2001.  Willy passed away in February 2003.

To recognize the commitment and contributions that Willy made to the Law Society of Saskatchewan, the Benchers created an award in her honour.  The C. Willy Hodgson Award is presented to individuals or organizations who exemplify integrity, leadership and character, and have made or are making outstanding contributions to advancing equity and diversity in legal education, the legal profession and/or the administration of justice in Saskatchewan or in Canada.  The first recipient of this award was Dr. Roger Carter, Q.C., in acknowledgment of his work establishing the Native Law Centre and the Saskatchewan Legal Aid Plan.

Nominations are accepted throughout the year.  The deadline each year is in November for the award presented in the following calendar year.  To make a nomination please print and fill out the nomination form and send by mail to:

The Law Society of Saskatchewan
1100 - 2002  Victoria Ave.
Regina, SK   S4P 0R7
Attention:  Liz Lynchuk

Or email

Stuart J. Eisner Memorial Bursary

The Stuart J. Eisner Memorial Bursary was established to assist a student from rural Saskatchewan to attend Law School.  As a former Bencher of the Law Society of Saskatchewan, Stuart Eisner was a keen spokesman for small rural firms at the Bencher tables. Because of his dedication to law and rural Saskatchewan, the Benchers created a bursary to encourage students from rural Saskatchewan to become lawyers and practice in rural Saskatchewan.

To contribute to the Bursary, please complete the contribution form and mail it with your cheque payable to Stuart J. Eisner Memorial Bursary.  A tax receipt will be issued for all donations.

Victor P. Dietz, Q.C. Pro Bono Service Award

In recognition of the contribution of lawyers in Saskatchewan to supporting access to justice for persons of limited means, Pro Bono Law Saskatchewan and the Law Society of Saskatchewan have established an annual award to recognize outstanding pro bono service.

Using the Nomination Form, please provide a summary of the nominee’s pro bono service detailing why the nominee is deserving of this award. Every nomination must be supported by the signatures of three members in good standing of the Law Society of Saskatchewan. Completed nominations should be submitted to:

Pro Bono Law Saskatchewan
Avord Tower
1650– 2002 Victoria Avenue
Regina, Saskatchewan S4P 0R7
t: (306) 569-3098
f: (306) 569-2198