About Us

How We Accomplish Our Purpose


The Law Society is governed by a Board of Directors that uses the traditional term "Bencher" to describe its board members and the term "Convocation" to describe its board meetings.

Eighteen Benchers are elected by lawyers from nine constituencies across the province. The remaining Benchers are appointed by legislation and include the Dean of the College of Law and four Public Representatives.

The Benchers meet at Convocation, usually five or six times each year. Convocation is open to the public.

The Staff of the Law Society Administrative office, located in Regina, implement the objects of The Legal Profession Act and Rules as directed by the Benchers.